Skip to content

Without Giles…

September 25, 2009

Some of you may know that Giles has been in Texas for two weeks to do some Airforce training. I however stayed here. Since we’ve been married I’ve only been without Gi for a couple of days so I was curious as to what these two weeks would hold. This is what my life is life without Giles –

The sinks stay cleared in the bathroom and the kitchen

There are no clothes on the floor

Fishing poles do not line the entry and snake skins do not appear in my freezer

I have enough bread and lunch meat for lunch everyday

My laptop is always available

There are no distractions to keep me from school work

I have an entire bed to myself

But …

I miss the noises and distractions, theres no one to entertain me or help me procrastinate

No  dishes in the sink means no delicious creative meals that took five or ten pots and pans to create!

There’s no one to talk to so I’ve been talking to the dog and my car.

There’s no one to protect and hold me at night while I sleep, I only use one side anyway

I haven’t laughed as much as usual.

Case gets in the bed and wakes me up at night because he’s laying on my legs

There’s no one to come home and vent all my frustrations to.

The coffee pot has been lonely for a while now

I never relax because I try to stay too busy to miss him.

There’s never any interesting findings in my freezer

The frog’s food runs loose in the kitchen and no one is here to catch it.

No one is around to give me funny nicknames or do hilarious impersonations of all our friends!

No one is there to sit by my side in church or small group.

My personal chef is gone and It’s hard to find good things to eat

I forget to stand up for myself because Giles isn’t around to remind me

It’s hard to get things done because  have to many things to do

The list could go on and on…I  miss Giles. Life without him was quite boring to say the least. I have to admit, the first week it was nice to have some space, reorganize, and get some thing accomplished. But by the weekend I was ready to have my distractor back. He keeps things fun and laid back. Life is not as stressful when Giles is around, he always helps me laugh at even the worst things in life and I miss all the hugs and kisses he gives me. He is coming home tomorrow afternoon and I cannot wait to see him! I think the break was meant for a reason and was a good refresher period for us, but I am definately a happier person with him around and I cannot wait for him to be home doing all the silly things he does! I realize now that those annoying quirks I always complain about…are really all the reasons I loved Giles in the first place .

 

I love you and miss you Giles!

 

Love,

Dani

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Leah permalink
    October 2, 2009 12:40 AM

    Ahhh you have a talent!! Keep it up 🙂 I’ve been meaning to call you…… So expect a call some time soon 🙂

  2. thattallblondegirl permalink
    December 27, 2009 1:17 AM

    Oh my gosh you are sooooo sweet Dani! This is my favorite blog! ❤ That Tall Blonde Girl

  3. Joy Alderman permalink
    November 19, 2015 11:42 PM

    Thank you for posting this. My husband has recently gone into the Army and I’m feeling exactly this right now. The first few days was like wow, I don’t have to pick up his clothes or worry about him teasing me in public or yelling at the game he’s playing on the Xbox while I’m trying to do something. But now I really miss all those things!

Leave a Reply

