Skip to content

Rainy Monday

October 6, 2009

A Spanish midterm at 8 am started out this wonderful rainy morning. I woke up and the first thing that came out of my mouth when I heard the rain was ” I hate school” and then I went on a rampage to my sleeping husband about how much I hated school and never wanted to go back. Despite my negativism I went on to get out of bed at 7 am ,  take a shower, get ready, made myself a hot cup of tea , reviewed my spanish notes quickly , and finally pull on the boots grab the umbrella and trek out into the cold rain which was never meant to touch my skin at 8 am on a Monday morinng. I was five minutes late to class, but I didn’t think it was too big of a deal because you can always blame it on the rain. That may be the only good thing about rain on a school day come to think of it. I reluctantly took my Spanish test. It seems ironic that most of the questions I’m sure that I missed on my test were not in our textbook, but rather in our notes which I did not even look at because I thought everything we should know would be in the book…well I will never do that again! You live and you learn I guess. It continued to rain for the rest of the day. All I could think about through the rest of my classes was how much I just wanted to go home and curl up on the couch with Giles and the dog.

Finally the turning point of the day came and I was home sweet home, but when I walked in the door the maintanence guys were there fixing out garbage disposal. Ah, such is life. Good news is that our garbage disposal is now working after the maintanence men pulled out the shrimp heads that Giles so intelligently tried to shred. Finally they were gone and my dream was fullfilled I got some comfy clothes on and headed to the couch in between Giles and Case. I puled out the Sunday paper and decided to actually read something other than the comics and the coupons for once. First, I read about how football players are overdosing on pain killers, than I read about a women who’s two children were killed in a fire after playing with her lighter in their bedroom. The picture next to this article was of the mother still holding a cigarette in her hand. Everything else looked pretty much just as depressing so I was glad when Giles decided that he was ready to go to the gym. I decided to follow him along,  homework and cleaning didn’t seem too appealing and besides  I couldn’t run outside  because of the rain . We made it to the gym after Giles managed to force a nasty orange flavored energy drink down my throat.

We ended up working out for two hours! Probably my longest workout ever. That’s what you get when you go with your husband I guess…anyway it was good, the elliptical kicked my butt and I’ll probably be feeling it tomorrow. Can’t wait to do it again on Wednesday!

The rest of the day was pretty insignificant, kindof like the stories I just bored you with. So, for my few readers sakes I will not go on. Just wanted to share a little bit of my rain inspired day. Until the next rainy day!

 

Danielle

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

