Skip to content

Reflections of a Country Song

December 5, 2009

Some of you may not know this about me, but I am a huge country fan. I was born and raised in the south and although I may not have all the characteristics about me like the southern accent and cut off jeans, I’m proud of where I’m from. Recently I had a friend post as his status the “smart” remark that he feels his IQ going down everytime he listens to country music. Well in mine and all the other country fans/singers defense I am writing this post. However, I will start out with a disclaimer that some country songs or even some lines in country songs ( just like any other genre of music) are truly corny – for instance the song ” Carrying your love with me” and this verse –

” On a lonely highway stuck out in the rain,

Darlin’ all I have to do is speak your name,

the clouds roll back and the waters parts

 the sun starts shinin in my heart for you.”

Ok, so that is really corny ( although just a little sweet you have to admit), but unfortunately lyrics like these is where country music gets its negative image and I’m sure you could come up with some others. I have posted the lyrics and a you tube link of a song below that gets to me everytime I listen to it. To some of you, whoever you might be Northerners or what not, this song might seem a little “below your IQ level.” But when your a true country girl/boy you know that almost every country song has a story in it and that is why country music touches the heart of so many. Some country fans out there may enjoy the party songs such as ” Beer for My Horses” or “Redneck Woman”, but you ask any country fan and they can tell you what that one song is in their life that speaks to them and tell’s their life story. The song “Your Gonna Miss This” is that song for me. I know I posted it right below, but let me try to help you understand why it is personally one of my favorite songs.  In the song is a teenager who says to her mom that she can’t wait to turn 18, when she can make her own money and her own rules. You can ask my mom, I used to say almost the exact same thing when I was in highschool. In the next verse it goes on to talk about the same girl and before she knows it she’s a brand new bride – This song is me, this is my story! “In her one bedroom apartment and her daddy stops by, he tells her it’s a nice place she says it’ll do for now, starts talking about babies and buyin a house” – again this is exactly where I’m at in life right now – literally in a one bedroom apartment and my daddy does stop buys and he tells me its a nice place. But then listen to the chorus of what her mom and daddy both tell her  ” Your gonna miss this, Your gonna want this  back, Your gonna wish these days didn’t go by so fast ”

The third verse is about when the girl is a mother and her life is a little bit more crazy and ok so she’s apologizing to a plumber about her crazy screaming kids and barking dogs, but hey most anyone who has a house and kids can most likely relate to her stress. But again, the plumber in his humble country way tells her ” he has two babies of his own, ones 36 , one’s 23, Your gonna miss this , Your gonna want this back, Your gonna wish these days didn’t go by so fast”

I really do miss my highschool days, although at the time I hated it. But, I miss those close friendships and somedays I really do want them back. I complain about our small apartment and sometimes I want babies… but when I hear this song however simple it may seem, it helps me remember the past and remember what I miss so that I can appreciate where I am in life now. Does that make sense? Every time I here this song I really do appreciate my life more. I walked in my apartment today, that’s so messy because it’s so small, and I smiled because I realized that someday I’m gonna miss this place where Giles and I grew stronger together. I laugh at the fact that when I went to let my crazy dog out of the bathroom he had somehow pulled the shower curtain down. These small spaces and crazy moments are memories in the making and I thank country music for helping me to remember that.

 Some of you, after reading this still may not be convinced and you might even think I’m a little crazy, but that’s ok.  Country music is my own taste and my own story. I don’t care if you don’t like it, and I’m not trying to tell you that you should . I realize that some of you might find your own story in all different genres of music. I find mine in country because that’s where I’m from and that’s how I was raised. So please, before you criticize country music again remember what I said. Remember that the country music genre really is an important part in  a lot of people’s lives and remember that song you might think is corny or “lowers your IQ” might have a much deeper meaning then you realize.

You Tube Link – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vG9XfJxMY8A&feature=fvw

She was staring out that window, of that SUV 

Complaining, saying I can’t wait to turn 18

She said I’ll make my own money, and I’ll make my own rules

Mamma put the car in park out there in front of the school

Then she kissed her head and said I was just like you

-Chorus-
You’re gonna miss this

You’re gonna want this back

You’re gonna wish these days hadn’t gone by so fast

These Are Some Good Times

So take a good look around

You may not know it now

But you’re gonna miss this

Before she knows it she’s a brand new bride

In a one-bedroom apartment, and her daddy stops by

He tells her It’s a nice place

She says It’ll do for now

Starts talking about babies and buying a house

Daddy shakes his head and says Baby, just slow down

-Chorus-
You’re gonna miss this

You’re gonna want this back

You’re gonna wish these days hadn’t gone by so fast

These Are Some Good Times

So take a good look around

You may not know it now

But you’re gonna miss this

Five years later there’s a plumber workin’ on the water heater

Dog’s barkin’, phone’s ringin’

One kid’s cryin’, one kid’s screamin’

She keeps apologizin’

He says They don’t bother me.

I’ve got 2 babies of my own.

One’s 36, one’s 23.
Huh, it’s hard to believe, but …

-Chorus-
You’re gonna miss this

You’re gonna want this back

You’re gonna wish these days hadn’t gone by so fast

These Are Some Good Times

So take a good look around

You may not know it now

But you’re gonna miss this

You’re gonna miss this

Yeah, you’re gonna miss this

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Leah permalink
    December 13, 2009 7:04 PM

    THANK YOU!!!!! As you could see I was the only one sticking up for country music in that “lowers my IQ” comment. I almost asked you to help me out there. It made me so mad!!! I let it drop because we have to pick our battles plus I didn’t want to get in a fight lol. Love you Country Girl 🙂

  2. Erin permalink
    December 15, 2009 1:58 PM

    I am not a huge country fan, as you know… but “You’re Gonna Miss This” is a good one! And I LOVE Carrie Underwood…

Leave a Reply

