Skip to content

Conlusion of the Semester

December 13, 2009

It has been cold and rainy here for the past several days. In fact, call me crazy, I know I live in Charleston but I swear I saw snowflakes on Thursday! They were the tiniest snowflakes I have ever seen but they were definately there bouncing off my windshield. Despite the weather I have been out and about trying to  find ways to procrastinate for my final studies for the semester. I have a Spanish exam at 9 AM tomorrow morning and that will conclude my first semester of nursing school! I have not done as well this semester as I wanted to. I have to be honest and say part of it was probably laziness, but there were also some added challenges as well. Working and going to school is definately not easy and there were weeks that I was working 20 -30 hours. I’m sure some students work more than that, but this semester I feel like I really pushed my personal limits. I don’t feel like I was able to be the wife I wanted to be , and I really regret not growing closer to the Lord. I should be able to come out of this semester still strong at a 3.5 GPA, but I have begun to question myself about whether I am holding that number to high on the shelves of my life. I know it is important that I keep trying my hardest, but my relationship with God and my relationship with Giles really need to come before my grades. I really want to analyze my life over Christmas break and find what I need to do differently next semester. I am learning that although they often do, I need to stop letting my grades define who I am. Sometimes it’s really hard for me not to do this because I feel like school is one of the only things that I am confident in.The main lesson I learned through this semester is that my grades are not where my confidence needs to lie, but rather my confidence should lie in God.

One Comment leave one →
  1. thattallblondegirl permalink
    December 15, 2009 4:45 AM

    I just wanted to tell you that you are a great wife to Gi and that you definitely have your priorities straight and that is a good place to be. I am so a fan of your blog!! 🙂 ❤ you

Leave a Reply

