Skip to content

Learning to become Fearless for Christ

March 15, 2010

I work as a server in a resturaunt, as many of you know that is not always the most enlightening environment. There have been several very disturbing conversations, but the one that I witnessed most recently has really challenged my faith. As my fellow co-workers blasphemed my precious God and called Him a lie I stood quietly in the background cowardly and did not say a word. How could I prove to these people that my God is real? How could I describe something that you cannot see? I wanted so badly to just burst out and loudly proclaim something profound and educated, but all I could think in my mind was…” YOUR WRONG!!” I had no proof, I could not pull out a past history lesson that explained Jesus’ existence, I could not describe all of the other religions in detail and prove why mine is right and those are wrong. I am ashamed to say I could not think of one thing to say for fear that it would be shot down so easily. I did not want to be the girl who said , ” you just have to have faith.” These people did not want to hear that. They wanted evidence hard core proof that God is real. I feel God in my life everyday, I could not live without my God to lean on and depend on. I cannot imagine life without him!  But, I was afraid these feelings were not enough to share and so I didn’t say a word. I was scared that my testimony had not been bold enough at work in the past. What if I shared my faith and than someone said, ” well I don’t see you living like Christ.”  I am horrible at quick comebacks and I didn’t want to say anything that could have been beaten down and destroyed their view of Christians and God even more. I went through the whole day without saying one word to any of them about what they had said. I am called to be BOLD for my God and proclaim Him to the world, but I obviously haven’t conquered that yet.

I have been pondering what happened on Friday all weekend now, I finally talked to Giles about it last night. I am so thankful for a Godly man who leads me in the right direction. He brought me a book called “Can Man Live Without God” By Ravi Zacharias. This book discusses exactly what a Christian in the world faces everyday. It will be a very good source to study and already has been.

I want to post a song that the author referenced. It describes the world’s view so well. We  are all searching. Thankfully as a Christian I know who the answer is. I know the answer is not myself, not my husband not my pastor, not other Christians, not education, for all of these people and ideas will fail me , and I will fail myself the most. God is my answer. He will never fail.  I hope that after I finish this study I will be able to better defend my faith and tell the world exactly who will answer…

From the canyons of the mind

we wander on and stumble blind,

Wade through the often tangled maze

of starless nights and sunless days,

Hoping for some kind of clue –

a road to lead us to the truth.

But who will answer?…

Is our hope in walnut shells

worn ’round the neck with temple bells?

Or deep within some cloistered walls

Where hooded figures pray in shawls?

Or high upon some dusty shelves,

or in the stars,

or in ourselves?

Who will answer?

If the soul is darkened

by a fear it cannot name,

If the mind is baffled

when the rules don’t fit the game,

Who will answer?

Who will answer?

Who will answer?

Wow, what a cry for help, what a message of what the world is seeking.

I have really shared my heart in this post, and you may think of me less because of what I have written here. I have shared my weakness and my doubts, but I have been honest and fearless in  my confessions. In reality I think all Christians struggle with these things.  Some Christians have learned to conquer their fears daily, and I am just beginning this journey. What about you? Do you find your answers in God? Who do you look to for answers? I challenge you along with me to look to God, and be fearless and Bold for His Great Name!

John 14:6

For I am the way,  the truth, and the life no man cometh unto the Father but by me.

One Comment leave one →
  1. thattallblondegirl permalink
    March 16, 2010 4:57 PM

    Danielle, this post is so heartfelt and I am glad you put your beliefs out there for the world to see. I also have a hard time saying anything to people who challenge what I believe. And it is hard to convince someone without evidence. But your life is a testimony to those people because you are genuine and caring and God shows through you all the time 🙂 I love you and am glad you posted this…and am glad you are blogging more because I so look forward to reading what you have to say.

Leave a Reply

