Skip to content

Today I changed my major.

May 5, 2010

Yep, you read it right, I am no longer a nursing major. Beginning today I am officially a senior in college. In May of 2011 I will be GRADUATING with a degree in Health Promotion. I just want to say a few things about this huge decision I made today because I know some of you are shocked and wondering WHY??

Well, see that’s the hard thing to explain. I guess I should start by saying I was never really sure I should have gone into nursing to begin with. I think I was pressured by society somewhat,  but I also saw stability. I really wasn’t interested in the money , it was the job security I was more attracted to. But, I never wanted to give a shot or see or smell the things I had to this year.  I wanted to educate the public and I was scared I would never get there with a health promotion degree. I see things quite differently now.

I have been on a long and interesting journey since my freshman year of college. I will admit all I wanted when I first began college was to be independent and leave my small and extremely conservative high-school.  I was extremely naive going into college. I began as a psychology major but quickly switched to a health promotion degree because I thought,” I’ll never get a job with a psychology degree unless I get my masters” ( and I definitely did not want to be tied down to that! ).  I really thought that you get your degree and than you get your dream job right after you graduate…kinda like that movie “Post Grad.”  Now I see how wrong I was! I guess the only degree I saw that opportunity with was Nursing, but I really didn’t WANT to do that for the rest of my life.

This entire year that I have been a Nursing major I have learned a lot about myself, my flaws , and my naivety. This has definitely been the most challenging semester of my life. But, I want to make it clear that I did not change majors because nursing was hard. Getting a job I like is going to be hard, but I’m willing to do it because it will be something I desire. I don’t desire nursing!

this was my face most of the semester – ask Giles

My response to my professors and many others when they ask me why? is, “I’m just not sure it’s what I want for the rest of my life. ” I believe for now that is a satisfactory response. There are of course a lot of other things in my life that have influenced my decision such as the fact that Giles and I want to move out of the Charleston area very soon. God has shown us pretty obviously  over the past year that he does not want us here .

I was a little bit uneasy after I had told my professor to change my major. It was heart wrenching to hear her say ” Ok , are you ready? I’m dropping you out of the nursing classes now”  I mean, I have worked SO hard this semester and I have bonded with the others who have gone through all of  the crap with me. Plus, I know I’m not good with change. But, a few hours later I really felt a peace I have not felt at all this semester. I am very happy and confident in the Lord that this was the right decision. I have been praying about this almost all semester and I am satisfied that the Lord has led me to this point in my life and he has a reason for all of the different paths we take in life.

I’m honestly not sure what I’m going to do with my degree once I graduate, but right now I am just trusting God to show me. I feel that He has a lot in store for me in the next few years.

Not once have I said in this post that I quit nursing because…I did not quit. I like to say I found out what I didn’t want to do and this is all just a journey to find who I am and what God’s purpose is for me. After this semester I honestly believe that for a lot of people college is about learning what you want to do in life, rather than actually learning about what you will do for the rest of your life.

I also just want to say that my husband has been a great support throughout this entire semester and is in full support of my decision – I love him , and I am so thankful that he has been faithfully by my side through it all.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Rebecca Hill permalink
    May 5, 2010 2:11 AM

    Aw, Danielle, I COMPLETELY understand. I was a Nutrition major for about a year…didn’t realize it was about the level of being a nursing major! I struggled to survive and had to work very hard for my grades. It took me a while and a lot of praying to realize that I wasn’t where God wanted me. Like you, I have no idea what I want or will do with my current major. But there is still one year to figure it out!! 🙂 Thanks for sharing 🙂

  2. thattallblondegirl permalink
    May 7, 2010 1:10 AM

    Dani I am proud of you for going with your heart and trusting God in switching your major! I know that whatever you do, it will be great! 🙂 You are so smart and whatever you put your mind to, I know it will get done perfectly! I love you and will miss you this summer. I hope you and Gi grow together in unbelievable ways ❤ Ash

Leave a Reply

