Skip to content

A Desert Rain

June 8, 2010

Here in Rangely it is rare for it to rain. While I was running this evening lightning began flashing around me and rain drops began randomly falling on me. It was magnificent, nothing is more exhilarating than to run in the unpredictable element. After enjoying a few rain drops here and there I thought to myself that I ought to blog, because my blog is ‘inspired by the rain.” So here I am again, blogging.

I haven’t really taken the time to write and update on our summer adventure, so I guess now is as good a time as ever to do that.

There have been a lot of great things happening, and there have been a lot of hard times as well. Giles is absolutely LOVING his class, and I am still so excited for him and his future career. I know he is going to do so well in his field and this will make me a happy wife.  I got a job, and it was totally provided by the Lord. I didn’t even ask or fill out an application, instead someone here on campus came to me and asked me to help out. I was more than eager to get started. I am now working in the registrars office doing imaging which is basically scanning documents on the computer. It is monotonous, but I’m not complaining because it keeps me busy and is bringing in a little extra money which is much needed at this time in our lives! We have explored mountains and caves, fished rivers, seen unique wildlife, traveled across a state line more than once, and experienced the small town restaurant/bar called ‘Betty’s’ on Friday nights to hear ‘Buffalo Joe’ sing some good old country songs. Believe it or not it is challenging to find things to do out here, the town is extremely small, but obviously we have managed to fulfill our adventurous souls!

We have met a lot of people and every Saturday I bake something for breakfast for Giles’ class of 20. Some of them are beginning to tell me I am a ‘mother figure’ ha ha! Giles has already been applying for jobs in anticipation and has had some very good feed back so we are really excited.

It is challenging being away from all of the comforts of home and supportive friends. Tomorrow I will journey 2 hours away to go to Walmart for grocery’s and to REI to get some new running shoes in Grand Junction. I’m looking forward to making my brief escape, but it can get old really fast to travel so far for necessities. The Family Dollar had it’s grand opening this week and it was definitely the place to be. On my way down an aisle I bumped into a teenage boy and he looked at me and said ‘so many choices!’ Little does he know that where I live we have at least 3 Walmarts 10 minutes from the house! Despite the struggles I have experienced a new way of life and in the isolation I have found God again and heard him answer so many prayers. I am so thankful to be where I am. Next week we are going to Yellowstone and the Grand Tetons which I’m sure is going to be absolutely MAGNIFICENT! This summer is definitely a reward after two years of what have seemed a bit of a struggle for Giles and I . The struggle is not over yet we are still waiting on this lawsuit over the house to be completed, but until than God is giving us adventures and blessing us with a summer of love!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

