Skip to content

A Compilation of Thoughts and Events

June 27, 2010

Well today we have been in Rangely for exactly five weeks. We are half way to continuing on to our next journey. A lot has happened since my last update. We have traveled as a group to the Grand Tetons and Yellowstone, camped for 6 days without showers, saw moose, elk, bison, bears, and even a baby great horned owl! I was finally able to see Old Faithful, and   the waterfall at the Grand Canyon of Yellowstone was absolutely breathtaking!

Since the ‘field study’ I have kept my self busy with work, cleaning, and cooking/ baking. I enjoyed making lasagna for  Giles and his district of 5 other future rangers Friday night. Late the same night I finished  baking some fresh blueberry muffins for his class for the following Saturday morning. I am definitely learning a lot about cooking this summer and I am getting a lot of experience so hopefully I will be prepared by the time I have a miniature army of my own to feed!

We also found a church to go to while we are here. It is very small, but the pastor preaches from the Bible, the people are very welcoming, and they even serve a weekly potluck dinner at the end of every service ha ha! This week VBS starts so I will hopefully be able to help out with that a little bit.  Today for the special music I was entertained by a harmonica player who played a medley of hymns including Kumbaya! The church definitely has it’s quirks but than again don’t they all? What’s important is the message is being delivered and we are growing through the Word.  – http://www.rangelychristian.org/

Yesterday I ran a 5k. I have been steadily running for the 5 weeks we have been here and have finally gotten used to the altitude. There have been plenty of hills to challenge me and I have even started some interval training.  The training paid off because I ran my best 5k with a time of 23:26.5 . I even won a prize for being third out of my age group . The race was for ‘Children With Hope’  and it benefited the Christian organization by using all of the proceeds to expand their orphanages. One story I read was about this baby boy who was found abandoned in a porta potty! Can you imagine? I would love to be able to go over there and help someday, or maybe even start my own non-profit promoting health promotion! Who knows what the future holds? http://www.childrenwithhope.org/

For the first half of the race I ran with a man who says his name is Jay and he is 61…he was kind of mysterious however so I’m not sure what to believe. However, he has been running for 46 years and was such an inspiration. He helped me run a sub 7 mile which I probably have not done since high school! He passed me around the mile in a half mark but that just motivated me to continue on and I owe my sub 24 time to his inspiration along with the motivation of my husband and his friend Robbie who unfortunately could not join me due to class . I talked to Jay for a while after the race and had some interesting conversations. I learned a lot about the other great runners in the town through him and he also informed me that he has taken on the new hobby as an Ice hockey goalie and he and his wife own a large tortoise named ‘Bruce.’ ( The mysterious man  informed me that the two terms in bold  were previously miswritten! )

The race was held right outside of the Colorado National Monument and so afterwards I decided to head up there for a picnic by myself and do some exploring. I ended up spending about three hours driving across the 35 miles of wonder and hiking to the bottom of the Monument Canyon. I took some beautiful pictures of the red rocks, and was moved by God’s amazing creations that He has allowed to form.

I forgot to mention that on my way to Grand Junction, the town in which the race and monument were located, I ran across and almost into some interesting things…

Needless to say yesterday was an amazing adventure that I thoroughly enjoyed! Sometimes it is nice to do things on my own, I gain a sense of  who I am again and I am reminded that I do have an adventurous soul and that is why  Giles is the perfect match for me!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Louise Kay permalink
    June 29, 2010 1:07 AM

    Danielle, I must say your writing gets better and better. I can just picture things as I read what you say. And I am so glad to see how you bring glory to the Lord in your writing. It does sound like you are seeing many wonders and I know how inspiring the out doors is. “The heavens declare the glory of God…” Of course as a Mother it is worrisome along with wonderful as I see my daughter out there in that big world alone. Most of the time you are safe…but there is also a dark side in this world…and I know you have seen very little of that. I hope and pray that it stays that way…becuase I love you.

  2. May 3, 2012 6:48 PM

    ah …just “re lived” this. glad you set your 5k PR and i do remember our sub-7 mile. i missed this event last year due to an out-of-state committment. bruce is larger, i am an older (& lousier) ice hockey goalie … things are more and more the same, and more of it, and less at the same time. keep up the writing! and the running!

Leave a Reply

