Skip to content

I'm a Bird Watcher

July 21, 2010

For my 21st birthday Giles did not buy me an expensive bottle of wine and surprisingly he did not purchase a gun for me…instead Giles bought me binoculars and a birdwatching book. At first I just kind of   looked at him like, your kidding right? (I know, I know it was mean) than I started playing with the binoculars in the restaurant, and a few days later I convinced myself to use them for their intended purpose and so I went birdwatching.  Now I am hooked. Birdwatching sounds boring right? I have to tell you that people have stereotyped birdwatchers all wrong! Birder’s are actually quite the thrill seekers. Climbing mountain tops , traveling all over the country or all over the world for that matter to find exotic rare birds is not even close to being boring. Seeing birds of brilliant colors in your own back yard and following one for extended periods of time to experience it’s incredible markings that you just cannot see  outside your  window is anything but mundane!

I know I can’t convince you, instead you must experience for yourself! Once you have lifted a pair of binoculars to your eyes and found a bird only to loose it and find it again moments later then you will understand. Once you have seen the incredible salmon wing linings and the brilliant blues, yellows, greens, and reds then and only then will you understand that bird watching is really a thrill seekers perfect adventure!

Here are some of my favorite finds  in Colorado –

I do not claim these pictures as my own unfortunately and they are in slideshow form so wait a few seconds and you will see a total of four different birds.

The first is a mountain blue bird.

The next bird you will see has a red “mustache” and he is call a Northern ‘Red Shafted’ Flicker ( you might know him as a woodpecker) .

The third bird is very common here in Colorado and is called the Western Kingbird.

Last but not least is the little red headed Cassin’s Finch.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

