Skip to content

A Tribute to My Grandmother

December 2, 2010

I want you to know that my grandmother ( nana to me ), is a woman who will never be forgotten. Her legacy will live on in my heart and her spirit will be passed down to my children.

I did not get a chance to gain from her wisdom as an adult, but as a child I captured enough to know that she was not just an average woman. Sara Kay was her name, and anyone who knew her would tell you she was the “sweetest woman they ever met.”

A few days ago I sat in the nursing home with her, tears falling, as I thought about how much she had endured in this life here on earth, but yet I never heard her complain.

She was the epitome of I Corinthians 13.

Love suffers long and is kind; love does not envy; love does not parade itself, is not puffed up ; does not behave rudely, does not seek its own, is not provoked, thinks no evil, does not rejoice in iniquity, but rejoices in the truth; bears all things, believes all things , hopes all things, endures all things.

If I could ever tell you that I have truly known someone to love unconditionally it would be my grandmother. Sara Kay was a sweet, simple and southern woman. She was love, but she was even more than that. My nana was a woman of endurance.  She was content and she was strong. She suffered the loss of her best friend and true love at the young age of 51, and she never remarried because she said “she had, had the best.”  Despite the pain, she endured this period of her life and stayed strong for her children and other’s hurting within the community. She did not flaunt what she did. Everything she gave to this world, she did it quietly. Just like Mary in the Bible, “she kept all these things and pondered them in her heart.” (Luke 2:19 )

My grandmother was a beautiful woman of the Lord and it was very apparent that she knew the Lord deeply. His love was in her eyes, in her smile, and in the way she simply said “I love you” until she could no longer form the words.

Nana was a funny woman too. She was a cat lady. I can’t remember a summer growing up that I didn’t get to see a new colorful, batch of kittens. Then there was Marty – her infamous, white cat who liked no one else but her. She was always befriending some animal from the woods too- foxes, raccoons, deer, you name it- they were drawn to her.

I spent many summer days at her house, learning to knit, playing the piano, holding the kittens, climbing the magnolia tree, eating Hershey kisses from the jar and just simply sitting with her and drinking a coke. She never denied the chance to take care of me.

She lived a simple, southern life that demonstrated unconditional love and strength.

Life today is so busy and as women especially I feel that we are always out to try and prove ourselves to the world. We want everyone to know that we are independent and strong and we can carry our own weight. But, when I step back for a moment and look at someone like my nana , I realize that though she may not have been ‘successful’ in the world’s eyes, she probably influenced more lives than I have ever thought about!

I Corinthians 13 says,

“Though I speak with the tongues of men and of angels, but have not love, I have become sounding brass or a clanging cymbal. And though I have the gift of prophecy, and understand all mysteries and all knowledge , and though I have all faith, so that I could remove mountains, but have not love, I am nothing. And though I bestow all my goods to feed the poor, and though I give my body to be burned , but have not love, it profits me nothing.

My nana did not try and prove her knowledge or flaunt her good deeds to the world. She simply loved and that was enough for us all.

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

