Skip to content

Our Charlie Brown Christmas

December 25, 2010

I am behind on my entries, but today is Christmas so I deem this post appropriate.

When I was a little girl my dad decided he wanted to make Christmas special and bring us back to the time when he grew up . So, he chopped down a pine tree right out of the woods beside our house. My mom and I got a good laugh at the poor, little tree. We reluctantly placed all of our shimmery Christmas decorations on the pitiful pine and tried to make the best out of our homegrown Christmas tree. Up until this day my mom and I have given my dad grief for making us put up that Christmas tree.

Well, guess what Giles wanted to do this year? That’s right, he wanted to chop down a Christmas tree in the national forest beside our house. All I could think about was that tree my dad brought home and in my mind as a little girl it was the oddest looking Christmas tree I had every seen. But, I didn’t argue. I figured it couldn’t hurt to try it just this once. So after he got off of work one day we drove up and up the mountain looking for the ‘perfect tree.’ We did see some beautiful views along the way.

I found several beautiful trees, but when we happily hurried closer to chop the tree down we realized that the tree was very similar to the tree in ‘Christmas Vacation,’ you know 12 feet tall. After several occasions of approaching these giants I began  getting a little bit frantic because it was  getting dark and I was envisioning being attacked by bears and mountain lions.  We drove further up the mountain and started window shopping for trees instead of  hiking milesthrough the woods. Finally, in the pitch black of night, we found our perfect tree. It was still about 12 ft.tall, but we were creative and chopped it down about half way up the trunk.

We brought the tree home and I stood back and yes I did laugh. But this time I did not think it was awkward or ugly, I thought that our  tree was beautiful. Now, I look back at my silly little girl visions of  my dad’s tree and I realize that his tree too was really beautiful and I wish I had been more appreciative of his efforts.  How ironic is it that now I want to chop down our own tree every Christmas!

 

Our tree is beautiful because we sacrificed our warmth, time, and comfort to find it. We picked it out, we chopped it down, and we decorated it together and that makes it a special tree.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Andrew Kay permalink
    December 26, 2010 1:00 AM

    Enjoyed this post, Danielle. Gorgeous photo. I’m still trying to figure out how to visit Arizona. Merry Christmas to you and Giles.

    Andrew

  2. ashley alderman permalink
    December 26, 2010 2:18 PM

    I LOVE this story! I miss you and Gi, hope your Christmas was wonderful! I’m thinking about you always ❤

  3. Harold Kay permalink
    December 29, 2010 3:19 PM

    I remember going Christmas tree hunting with my brothers [your dad and your Uncle Johnny] and our dad. It was always a special time. Somehow we always found a beautiful cedar tree. I still remember the smell of those trees. Always reminds me of Christmas when I smell a cedar tree.

    What wonderful times those were, going into the woods with our dad, then helping our mom [your Nana] decorate that tree and await Christmas.

    Uncle Harold

Leave a Reply

