Skip to content

Defining Moments

January 3, 2011

2010 was possibly one of the most confusing, adventuresome, and defining years of my young life.

I faced death.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I changed my major for the final time.

I saw a glimpse of who I am becoming as a woman.

I experienced “the west.”

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I met new friends and family.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I sat by my grandmother’s side in her last few days on this earth.

My husband obtained his career goal that defines a life for me I never saw coming.

 

 

 

 

 

 

I lived on my own.

I ran my fastest 5k.

I got my dream car.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I learned to love a little deeper.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I saw elk, moose, prairie dogs, big horn sheep,bears, owls, bison, and prong horn.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I stood by my friend’s side when they needed me and I stood back and prayed when they didn’t.

I experienced injustice along with some close friends.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I learned what it means to really have faith and I experienced a true dependence on God.

I loved and I hated, I criticized and I admired, I was content and I was not, I was joyful and I was scared, I was confused and I was confident, I laughed and I cried, I had faith and I worried.

What was the most defining moment?

In 2010 I became a park ranger’s wife. It will be a year that I look back on many years from now and realize that it was in 2010 when my life and my future took a turn for a life of fear, joy, uncertainty, beauty, new experiences, and adventure!

What about you, what were some of your defining moments of 2010?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Louise Kay permalink
    January 3, 2011 1:02 AM

    I love this Danielle…it puts the year in a nutshell, was smooth easy reading and informs and reminds me of your whole year…and is very creatively done. thank you Love, Mom

  2. ashley alderman permalink
    January 3, 2011 4:54 PM

    Dani, you are one of the best people I know! You had a rough year, honestly 2010 was not only one of the worst, but one of the best. I miss you and cannot wait to catch up. There is alot I am sure. When do you get back? Please lets get together!!! ❤ you

  3. January 5, 2011 9:10 AM

    Wow. I mean, really, WOW. You are awesome. In the short time I have known you, you are one of the most influential people I have ever met… Oh, and, er, uh, bring that husband of yours along for the ride!!! Just kidding Giles, the two of you are awesome.

    When we met at the lovely historic Hotel Congress, I was really in kind of a slump… I was wondering if the things I was writing would make a difference. To anyone. To Any One.

    Apparently all it takes is one. Or, in your case, two. Two hearts that beat as one.

    Danielle, you and Giles are the kind of people I want to have on this wonderful planet. Two real people, two people who want to make a difference, two real people who actually seem to give a darn about those who are out there, trying to make it, trying to not lose the war. You inspire me. You make me grin. And you make me want to be the best me I can be. I think my parents, Jim and Diane, would be proud of you. And they would be happy for me having met you.

    We’re gonna win. We’re gonna give peace a chance.

    God Bless you two and all your friends and family. btw – great blog!!! – takes one to know one, right? 😉 peace – johnny

Leave a Reply

