Skip to content

Resolution Defined

January 16, 2011

I have begun to notice that there are a large number of opinions existing in our society about resolutions. In past years I have also experimented with resolutions making them and not making them. But, this year specifically I noticed a lot of fellow social net workers who seemed to debate the issue and even choose to write goals instead of or in addition to resolutions.

First of all how is the term resolution actually defined?

Here are some of my favorite definitions from dictionary.reference. com

a resolve or determination: to make a firm resolution to do something.

the act of resolving or determining upon an action or course of action, method, procedure, etc.
the mental state or quality of being resolved or resolute; firmness of purpose.
Synonyms include : resolve, determination, perseverance, tenacity; strength, fortitude.
Some people don’t like to make resolutions. I’m not sure of all of the reasons behind that decision. I suppose It is because they don’t want to be tied down to something, maybe they have a more spontaneous personality. Perhaps it is because they do not want to fail, because failure is even more discouraging than trying and getting a bit further by making a resolution.
Some people would rather make goals. So the question I have been asking myself is what is the difference between a resolution and a goal?
Here are two of my favorite definitions for the term Goal according to dictionary.reference.com
the aim or object towards which an endeavour is directedThe terminal point of a journey or race

Synonyms include:  target; purpose, object, objective, intent, intention.

In my opinion goals and resolutions are both equal in value . The main difference I see is that a goal has an ending and a way to get there, it may be a bit more specific than a resolution. However,  I would still choose making resolutions over goal simply because I feel the definition for it is a bit stronger than that of a goal. It includes words such a firm, strength, determination all of which are an inspiration to me.

So, yes this year I have chosen to make some resolutions. I choose to do this because I have been told when you have a list of goals or resolutions you are more likely to be successful in life and have a more positive attitude because you have a purpose – something to work towards. I don’t think it can ever hurt to make resolutions.

Here is  what I would like to accomplish this year. If you make it to the end I will be impressed!

Health:

I want to gain at least ten lbs. and maintain it. Why? Because I am underweight according to the doctors.

I plan to do this by carrying snacks with me, keeping up with every meal, and strength training.

I want to run a 10 k and a half marathon by the end of the year.

I plan to do this by finding an appropriate training plan – any suggestions?

I want to consistently eat right and exercise. This is important to me because I am going into the field of health promotion and do not want to be hypocritical – I believe being an example is one of the greatest ways to be a credible source.

I want to be involved in a yoga class on a weekly basis– this will help me stay consistent with my exercise.

Spirituality

I want to spend more time learning about and worshipping my Saviour

I plan to do this by setting aside a specific time each day to spend with him.

I want to find a ministry that my heart is really passionate about.

Academic/ Career

I want to graduate with a 3.5

I want to have an in-depth portfolio completed before I graduate.

I want to apply to at least 5 jobs in Arizona that are at least 1.5 hrs from our home before I graduate.

I want to make a lasting impression as an excellent worker to my professors and internship staff.

I want to implement the Eat Well, Stay Well program my class and I developed for CSU.

I want to do a thorough job with my volunteer work for the National Park Service – I will be writing a monthly newsletter for three sites in Arizona in  relation to their new employee wellness program.

Writing

I want to blog at least once a week

I want to open up a new section on my blog specifically about health

I want to write more poetry

Travel

I want to explore more of the south while I am still here

Specifically I want to visit my friend in Alabama , Smoky Mountain National Park, the Outer Banks,  Savannah, and all of the National parks/historic sites in SC.

As Husband and Wife

We would like to find a church with a good community in AZ

We would like to travel more of AZ and make it down to Mexico

We would like to decorate at least one room in the house

*I want to become more content in whatever state I am in and accept my position in life whether it be housewife, career woman or a little bit of both*

I am always striving to be a more supportive and encouraging woman for my man

I would also like to be better at finding healthier recipes

Hobbies

I would like to read one fiction and one non fiction book each month ( I would also like to add a book review section to this blog)

I would like to finish one scrapbook

I would like learn to knit a pair of socks

I know this list may seem ridiculously long to most of you – and I appreciate you if you have taken such an interest in my life to read the whole thing – but there’s just one more I ‘d like to add.

I have a resolution for my resolutions! At the end of each month I will repost my resolutions and beneath each one I will write where I stand in my journey .

If you want to read even more about resolutions ( which I am assuming at this point your shaking your head) here is an interesting article on the history of resolutions – http://www.life123.com/holidays/new-years/new-years-traditions/the-history-of-new-years-resolutions.shtml

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. Harold Kay permalink
    January 18, 2011 1:54 AM

    Good luck on all of your goals Danielle. I have been to Savannah a couple of times and also to the Outer Banks. If you go to the Outer Banks, go on the Wild Spanish Mustang tour. These mustangs are direct descendants of mustangs that Spanish explores used to explore the Outer Banks back in the 1500s. They pushed the horses off of the ships and they had no choice but to swim to shore, but of coursde, they could not coerce them back into the ocean to get back on the ships.

    The horses just ran wild in the town of Corolla which is the last town north in NC on the Outer Banks. They learned how to operate the automatic dsoors at the stores in town, and would open the doors and go to the produce section and start munching down. Needless to say, chaos ensued, so the town had them fenced off in an area north of town. They are treated good though. The herd has their own full time vet and are fed good. Your Aunt Linda, Ryan and I took that tour in an old battered jeep. Very interesting history lesson.

    The Outer Banks also has several lighthouses, the most well known is the one on Cape Hatteras, NC. It had to be moved several years ago due to an encroaching Atlantic Ocean. The lighthouse museum that is there has pictures and a description of how the move was done. They put it on tracks and moved it very slowly.

    Lastly, The Outer Banks were the home of the famous pirate Blackbeard, until he was caught, beheaded and his head placed on a pike at the entrance of one of the towns that he terrorized.

    Your blog is interesting and enjoyable. Looks like you live in a very beautiful part of our country. Much different from the Aamerican South. Love the pictures you put up that give an idea of what things look like around your home. Take care and good luck to you and Giles.

    Uncle Harold

Leave a Reply

