Skip to content

Hey Stay at Home Mom’s – This one’s for you!

January 23, 2011

I blog as most of you who are reading this may know. I also like to read other people’s blogs. Today on freshly pressed was this woman –http://oinktales.com/about/ ( I hope she doesn’t mind me sharing). I went on to read about who she is and when I finished reading I must say I was filled with admiration. I have been thinking a lot lately about career vs. stay at home mom. I mean I am graduating from college soon and decisions are coming up. (Please don’t bombard me with “are you pregnant?!” posts because I AM NOT.) I’ve just been thinking a lot about my future and my future as a married woman.

In the society we live in today marriage and family seem to be put on the back burner so when a woman steps out of that culturally accepted zone it is shocking and some may shake their heads in disapproval, but I just want to say that I admire that – I admire the strength it takes for a woman to care so much about another person that she would be so selfless as to give up her own dreams and stay at home to fulfill someone else’s. I hope I get to that point someday where I can accept that as my life and become a servant.

I really would love to hear from other women on this topic. I am very interested to know what other opinions or inspiration stories are out there. I would also like to know if I am the only married woman out there who has had this what I would call ‘career driven complex’ – that I have to get through this having a career phase before I start a family. I really am seeking advice on this topic so bring on the comments! As a side note, I am pretty grounded in what my future decisions will be, but it would still help to hear other women’s ( men are not excluded) opinions on the subject.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 23, 2011 3:53 AM

    Well I was a career woman for a very long time. When I got pregnant with my first child (whom you know) things just changed. I started to think about the world we live in, the culture we are surrounded and bombarded by and many other things and I didn’t want someone else to rear my child. I wanted to follow God’s call and His commands. He put the new life in me to protect, care for, and instruct. I couldn’t convince myself I could do that while working full-time.

    I want to be there for every moment of all of my children’s lives whether big or small. That’s another reason I chose to homeschool (but that’s a different topic.) I wanted to participate in their lives and train them to follow Christ.

    Now when I finally did get pregnant with my first it was a total surprise. There was no planning. I was not wanting children at that time. I figured it would be way later when we were “established” before we started to think about having kids. God took over and that was that. I have loved every minute of the life I have been given and the beautiful children He entrusted to me.

  2. Mary the OINKteller permalink
    January 23, 2011 5:24 PM

    Thanks for checking out OINKtales and linking to my site. I’m grateful for your admiration but can’t help but feel it’s undeserved. I left my career to focus on my family but I don’t serve them and I don’t consider myself a servant. I wasn’t kidding when I wrote that I am a rather self-centered person. For me, working and raising a family simultaneously made my life too difficult. I needed a break. I was fortunate to have the option to quit – there are lots of women who would like to quit but that option is not available. But truly, leaving my job wasn’t easy. I miss working outside the home. I miss my coworkers and the feeling that I was an “expert” in my field. But at the end of the day, I came to realize that my #1 goal is threefold: 1) to help my children become the best people they can be, 2) to instill in them the values I hold dear, and 3) endeavor to make our family life enjoyable rather than something to be endured (although there are days that they are just that). All I can say is, whether you have kids or you don’t, YOU define your own life. YOU make what you will of it. Best of luck to you. Take good care.

Leave a Reply

