Skip to content

Resolution Check In

January 30, 2011

At the end of my blog about resolutions I said this –

I have a resolution for my resolutions! At the end of each month I will repost my resolutions and beneath each one I will write where I stand in my journey .

I’ve decided for this month at least, not to bore you too much and only list what I have begun accomplishing so far.  I am not going to focus on what I have not done – I am trying to build self esteem here.

Health:

I have gained a couple of pounds, been much more consistent about exercise which for me means that I have at least been exercising 2-3 times a week or more. I have been eating at every meal and trying to cook at home more.  I have also made sure to carry several snacks with me such as nuts, dried fruit, granola bars etc…

Spirituality

This is an area that I don’t want to ‘boast’ in really. It is more of a private area of my life. I will say that I have taken steps already to involve myself in a small ministry. I am also enjoying being more consistent in my personal life with God, but it’s never at the point that I want it to be. My roommate gave me a book called “Radical Womanhood” and I have been reading that as well, I would suggest it to any other Christian woman out there, it is excellent!

Academic/ Career

I am doing ok academically. So far all A’s, but it is the beginning of the semester so that doesn’t really say much! This week I will begin my portfolio by building my final resume. My internship is going ok, but I am simply not as motivated as I was last semester. The simple explanation would be ‘Senioritis,’ but there are other reasons I just won’t go into details here. My hopes for next month are to put more effort into my internship. I have started on the beginning steps towards my volunteer work with the National Park and implementing the “Eat Well, Stay Well Project” at school. Next month I will become much more involved with these two projects.

Writing

I have done okay in the blogging arena. I have been posting about once a week, maybe missing one here and there. I have opened up a new section on health, but it still has a long way to go. However, I feel accomplished simply because I learned how to add a page! Also, if you keep up with me you may have noticed that I wrote a silly haiku this month, so I would say I’ve made a good start with the poetry writing ( better then normal that is). I plan to open up a book log on my blog this coming month as well.

Travel

This weekend I began my adventures of the south by visiting Congaree National Park (pictures to come). My favorite thing about the park was probably the 17 story high Loblolly Pine!

As Husband and Wife

As far as being a better wife goes, well it has been a little challenging due to the fact that my husband is thousands of miles apart. I just have to take it one day at a time. The one thing I have found that helps is communicating in different ways. We don’t always have the best phone conversations or skyping experiences and on those days I make an effort to send an e-mail or write a letter – sometimes you can communicate on a different level that way and it seems to help.

Hobbies

I have done really well in the reading area. I have read 3 fictional books this month and am working on my non fictional book right now. This is probably one thing that is keeping me unmotivated to do better in school!

Writing about my accomplishments may seem a little self-centered but I believe it is ok to do something for yourself once in a while. These posts are really more for me – to be able to look back at what I have done and be motivated to push through the next month to do even better. I don’t want my resolutions to be forgotten in a month (like they usually are) so this is just my way of keeping up with them!

Do yourself a favor and entertain me for a while by listing some of what you have accomplished this month. I think you will find that it will put a boost in your day!

 

 

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

