Skip to content

Controversy in the Health Field?

March 9, 2011

This post could be very long and very in depth, but considering the fact that I have three midterms tomorrow…well it’s simply not going to be.

The main point I want to get across today is that there is indeed a lot of controversy in the field of health education, which if you didn’t know,  health promotion  is what I am getting my degree in.

“Should you stretch before or after you excercise?”

“Is fat as bad for you as the government says it is?”

“Does cholesterol really cause heart disease?”

Unfortunately I am realizing more and more lately that “the more I learn, the less I know. ” This has become very frustrating for me. What is the point of sitting in class soaking in all of what I assume to be accurate information only to go home and watch a documentary like “Fat Head” and realize that what I just studied for five days may not be true after all! I have come to the conclusion that when I am out in the “real world,”  all on my own, promoting health I am going to have to *gasp* educate myself and form my own opinions on things. I must say that is not easy and sometimes I really just want to be spoon fed the information that I need to give to other people, but if I want to be a person of character I cannot do that.

After reading about yet another controversial topic in my health and aging book, multivitamins – are they really beneficial?,  I wanted to share this statement from the author, David Harber.

“Given my strange eating habits ( my innards are not normal), I am personally not yet willing to give up my multivitamin; however I am no longer confident about recommending this option to others. As is the case with many areas of research…stay tuned.”

I simply love that this statement exists in a textbook, it makes my studying much less monotonous. Sometimes, even authors don’t know the answer and that makes my job as a student somewhat frustrating!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Amy Mills permalink
    March 9, 2011 8:52 PM

    My minor in college was Health Education and so much has changed since then!! You, Danielle, will do great in this field. Excited that you are about finished with school and will soon be with Giles!

    • March 11, 2011 5:59 PM

      Thanks for the post Amy! I didn’t know that was your minor? That is really neat, I am sure a lot has changed. A lot has changed just since three years ago when I started in my degree.

Leave a Reply

