Skip to content

Radical Womanhood

March 11, 2011

Last semester I felt myself desperately fighting for my independence in my marriage and trying to prove that I could stand on my own. You know fight for my womanhood and my equality and all of that. After coming back from Christmas break and after ‘being a wife again,’  something in me changed. Since that time I have been learning to give up my selfishness and take God’s hand and follow His path for my life.  It has been so refreshing and I feel like this burden has been lifted from my shoulders to allow Him to lead me and show me His plan for my life. I still am not completely sure what He has in store for me as far as my future, career or family is concerned but simply trusting that He has that all under control is incredibly comforting.

The Lord is working in me. He is using others to work in my life as well and I have witnessed so many stories and real women’s lives that have been made powerful through their faith in the Lord. The Lord has also placed my wonderful roommate, Leslie, in my life to teach me some important lessons. I have seen her serve Him quietly yet powerfully throughout the time I have lived here and she is such an inspiration! She also is very assertive in knowing just what I need and she lent me the book , “Radical Womanhood; A Feminine Faith, In a Feminist World. ” This book goes through the history of feminism and is very educational and in depth. It is going to be one of those books that I have to read through twice to grasp all of the concepts. The author, Carolyn McCulley, is a testament herself of running out of the feminist world and into the Lord’s arms.

The link I have posted below is  the testament of another woman, Maria Owens, who was  living a life for herself  but the Lord changed her to develop a powerful life for others and for Himself.

http://www.csuniv.edu/ministries/audio/mariaowens.mp3

Both of these women have been incredible examples to me and have reminded me that God can still use me powerfully for Him when I am not busy seeking my own dreams and selfish desires.

If you didn’t know, this past Tuesday was International Women’s Day. I want to agree that God did create women equally. But we need to stop fighting for what we were not meant to do. We have much to offer the world in the exact role that God placed us to be in. I want to encourage other women to simply accept who God is asking you to be, and to accept who your heart tells you to be. Stop fighting for who you think you should be,  stop listening to those voices in your head who tell you that you could be better. God created you beautifully. He created you with qualities like no one else and yes, He has a plan and a purpose for your beauty and character in this pain filled world.

I have a great burden for the women in this world today. Many of the battles we have conquered have been great victories, like gaining the right to vote ! I am not at all stating that I feel everything we have fought for has been pointless. However, I do feel that we may have taken things too far. It is unfortunate that today women who choose to stay at home investing in their children are not recognized and at times even looked down upon. I am not at all saying that all of us were meant to be stay at home mom’s.  I am saying however, that we need to start embracing the role that God naturally leads us to. Whatever it is that your heart desires and you feel drawn to do today I challenge you to go do it.

If you have a burden for someone act upon it, remember you are a woman and were created to show compassion. If you feel passionate about  something in your community, remember you have been  given the gift of emotion for a reason. If you have been dealing with a situation in your life and deep down you know the answer, remember to listen to your heart because you are blessed with intuition.

Proverbs 31:25- 26 – Strength and honor are her clothing; She shall rejoice in time to come. She opens her mouth with wisdom and on her tongue is the law of kindness.

I want to hear your story – what have you struggled with as a woman? Please tell me that I am not the only one who has battled with feminism and faith.  What do you think is your best feminine quality? What have you given up to follow God’s role? I have a great desire to hear your story! I am still learning so much about being a woman in this world and I feel that there are many women out there who have wonderful stories to share – please encourage me by sharing yours!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Erin permalink
    March 11, 2011 9:38 PM

    What an awesome journey God has taken you on. Your faithfulness and obedience to God’s purpose in your life is such a testimony! Isn’t it pretty incredible too how God placed Leslie in your life so perfectly? 🙂

    • March 14, 2011 4:04 AM

      Thank you Erin, it has been quite the journey and It’s now where near over. I am so grateful to Leslie for her example and learning from all of you beautiful ladies in small group!

  2. March 12, 2011 5:39 AM

    yeah yeah yeah (sez cynical old person/man). we are ALL ‘persons’ / the atman (soul) is the SAME in everyone, and, en español:

    hay dos clases de personas en este mundo: ellos quienes piensen que hay DOS clases de personas; y ellos quienes piensen que hay UNO clase.

  3. Leslie permalink
    March 15, 2011 2:53 AM

    So I take it you’ve read the book now, its good huh? 🙂 Thank you for sharing such sweet AND challenging words. You’re an incredibly wise young woman and I’ve learned so much from you; I’m so thankful that God put both of “the danielles” in my life!

    • March 17, 2011 1:57 PM

      Thanks Leslie, I actually haven’t finished the book yet. It takes a while for me to digest the information- I have learned so much through it so far though!

  4. March 16, 2011 5:56 PM

    Hi Danielle!

    Since I am not a woman, I can only admire your testimony from a distance. However, my grandma was amazing. She was born in 1896 and died in 1994. She was 16 when the Wright Brothers invented real flight. She lived to see man (WHY NEVER A WOMAN!?!?!?) walk on the moon, and see the space shuttle (FINALLY! WOMEN!!!) go into orbit.

    She was among the first American women to have, and utilize, the right to vote.

    I wish you could have met her – she was an inspiration to many many young women. She started the first chapter of Kappa Kappa Gamma at the University of Idaho, and it is still there today.

    And she had a firm and unwavering belief in God.

    Go strong in your journey, keep promoting the beauty and value of women, and continue showing the difference between us men and the stronger sex – women.

    Norma would be proud.

    Peace – Johnny

    • March 17, 2011 1:56 PM

      She sounds like a wonderful lady, I would have loved to have met her! Thanks for sharing, I am always inspired by stories like that.

Leave a Reply

