Skip to content

Spaghetti, Wii, and Friends

May 29, 2011

Tonight we had a total of 10 people in our home indulging in a pasta feast! Within a mere week our park has been bustling with seasonals , firefighters, and interns for the Student Conservation Association (SCA). So, we did what should be expected of a park ranger and his wife, we invited them all over for a home cooked meal!

Only after the invitations had been given out did I find  that Giles would be working over time today due to  the fire brewing over the hill. As an honest person I will admit that this news put a little glitch in my day because I sometimes depend on him for help in the kitchen and I most definitely depend on him when we are having so many people over! But, I am proud to say that I faced my fears and conquered the spaghetti dinner by myself. (Thank goodness it was an easy meal!)

Dinner turned out great and Giles was even able join us for an hour. We played a little bit of Wii bowling and tennis, talked about the fire, mesquite trees, and everybody’s goals and dreams in the park service. We even ate some cake. All in all the night went well and we were thanked multiple times (especially by the SCA interns ) for a good meal, and time well spent with someone other than their own crew members.

I thought life would be lonely out here in the Chiricahua Mountains, and well sometimes it is. But, tonight I found it to be a very entertaining place full of  good stories and new friends.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Jess permalink
    May 29, 2011 3:23 PM

    I’m so Happy for you guys! I was worried with everything being so far away it was going to be tough, but it sounds like things are going smoothly 😀

  2. June 29, 2011 10:42 AM

    I’m glad that you had a good night. God gives us just what we need when we need it, huh? I miss you here.

Leave a Reply

