Skip to content

Part I – Where we Have Been for the Past Four Months

November 9, 2011

Life is changing quickly yet again and it is hard for even close friends and family to keep up with where we are or where we have been these days.

So where have we been for the past four months? Most of you probably know but just in case here is a quick run through. When I graduated from college, I thought I would be moving out to Arizona permanently but little did I know God had other plans. Giles and I got be together for 2 months but after that joyous time together we were separated again. Giles was sent to the Federal Law Enforcement Training Center down in Brunswick, Georgia from July – October. It was a serious training and I was not able to go with him so I stayed in Greenville, SC with my family and was blessed enough to get a good temporary job. We were thankful to get several nice weekends together, but of course it was not enough especially being pregnant with our first. On October 31 Giles graduated from FLETC.

We got to spend about 5 days together celebrating Gi’s graduation, birthday and our baby girl.

the round object above her nose is her little hand.

I can’t explain to you all of the thoughts and feelings that flooded me when I saw our baby on that screen. I am not the type to cry in front of the nurse or loudly express my joy, but I guarantee I felt the same love that most mothers feel. It was also Giles first time that he was able to go to an appointment with me. It was really hard being at the first ultrasound and hearing the heart beat without him, and I know he was feeling pretty left out too. When we got to see our baby girl together for the first time it was a very satisfying moment. For the rest of the day we enjoyed being able to say she and her and just feel so much more connected to the life growing inside of me. Every thing about her amazes me and it is incredible that her little body is so intricate and detailed already! I will never understand how anyone could deny that my baby girl is not a life to be respected and protected.

Our time together did not last long before I found myself dropping Giles off at the airport once again. For the past week he has been in Arizona making up military drills that he missed while he was in Georgia. This was the first time that dropping him off wasn’t a time for tears or frustration because I knew this meant our time apart was coming to an end and I would be seeing him in one short week! I can’t wait to pick him up tomorrow and continue our life together as a family.

Giles and I have been apart on and off for a little over a year now. Praise the Lord this season of our life is coming to an end. But, being a part of the National Park Service still leaves us with an interesting journey ahead of us. Stay tuned for  Part II – where we are going to be for the next 3 months !

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Gemma permalink
    May 29, 2012 9:32 PM

    Hello there…..I am also a ranger’s wife and I just came across your blog. I remember my husbands time at FLETC well and was one of the hardest times of our relationship. Who knew date night would be walking around walmart because Glynco had nothing else to offer!
    Just wanted to say its nice to read about another persons journey from within the Park service!
    ~Gemma.

    • June 2, 2012 3:53 PM

      Wow I am so glad you found me! I would love to hear about your experience as a rangers wife. I am sure you have been in my shoes a bit longer and would have some encouraging words for me. 🙂 What park are you guys located at if you don’t mind me asking? We are very isolated in our area and it has been extremely challenging. Are you an employee for the park service as well? If you would prefer to communicate through e-mail you can write me at countryflower@gmail.com. I would love to talk more!

Leave a Reply

