Skip to content

26 Weeks and Counting

December 14, 2011

I haven’t posted many pregnancy updates at all so far, but I think now is a good time to start since I am beginning  to feel more and more pregnant each day. It never fails, every time I tell someone how far along I am I get the same comment I’ve been getting my entire life…”You’re so tiny!!” Well, I may look tiny to you, but since I see myself every day and know myself better than anyone else I will tell you that I am not tiny compared to what I used to be!

Here I am at Thanksgiving – 24 weeks. There’s definitely a bun in the oven!

Despite the growing belly I’m still doing well physically and am hiking every chance I get. This is my most recent picture at 26 weeks.

So can I just be completely honest. Pregnancy is not all it’s cracked up to be. Oh don’t get me wrong, I am enthralled with this little girl inside of me and I still smile when I feel her move and laugh when her kicks come as a complete surprise. I love to shop for her and imagine her wearing the cute little outfits we buy, and I get this overwhelming feeling when I think about seeing Giles hold her for the first time. I can’t wait to meet her and pregnancy is incredible just for that fact that I am carrying this precious life that our love created.

But when I’m not focusing on the miracle of pregnancy here’s where the other half of my thoughts go. I used to think that I would love the ‘cute factor’ of pregnancy…you know the bump. I had heard of women who became addicted to pregnancy because of the attention they received and in my naivety I thought I would be one of them.  WRONG! There are a few days here and there when I look at my bump in the mirror and think, ‘well maybe it’s kind of cute.’ But, most days I just wonder where my body went! The other problem is that even though I am experiencing these huge changes in my body, nobody else seems to even notice. I have gotten a grand total of two, that’s all folks, TWO comments from strangers about my bump. So most of the time I walk around feeling like people just think I’m fat or rather oddly shaped.

Other than the low back pain, I have been doing great physically. Emotionally it’s a whole other story. Let’s just say the pregnancy hormones have caused me to go through some crazy mood swings and you should all have pity on my poor family.

Despite my venting I would say that overall pregnancy has been very simple. Some moments a random somersault in my belly is the only thing reminding me I’m pregnant. I really don’t have a lot to complain about compared to other horror stories I have heard. Even though I am not going to be one of those women ‘addicted’ to pregnancy – I am glad to know that my body has handled it this well so far and that I will not be dreading pregnancy if we are so blessed again in the future.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Peg permalink
    December 14, 2011 6:09 PM

    can totally relate sweet friend! Thanks for sharing.

  2. lauraware permalink
    December 14, 2011 6:21 PM

    Love the honesty in your post. You’re going to be a great mom, and that baby bump looks so sweet and full of a budding, healthy little baby.

  3. Rita permalink
    December 14, 2011 7:24 PM

    Hahaha. I definitely know what you mean about not “loving the bump” as much as you thought you would. Only, yours IS a cute little bump. Mine was more of a full-body-swell. Blech!!

    You look great, Danielle! Glad you’re doing well! 🙂

  4. Alicia permalink
    December 14, 2011 10:01 PM

    I can’t wait to see you and your bump in a couple of days!!! Love you

Leave a Reply

