Skip to content

One Last Goodbye

January 25, 2012

For the past two years I have had a lot of different seasons in my life.  This Saturday I will finally say goodbye for a while to the ups and downs of traveling around. I know God has had a reason for everything that has happened in our newly married life, but I am so ready for this season of unusual circumstances to be over. Even though moving thousands of miles away from home is intimidating I am so ready! I am so excited to start our family somewhere fresh and new and most of all somewhere that we will be staying for at least 2 years or more.

As far as our past experience in Tennessee goes I must say I am not sure I have ever been so glad to leave a place. Don’t get me wrong, being here in Tennessee has had it’s perks such as the beautiful waterfalls (of which I still plan to post more about), some great people, and a good training experience for Giles, but it is definitely not a place we would ever want to stay. I do not know what made the last three months so difficult for me…maybe it was the lack of sun, the tourists, the loneliness, the stresses of life, or simply the fact that I am ready to have this baby and start nesting, but I am happy to be able to say goodbye in a few days.

Despite my excitement to start anew I do have to admit that I am still very nervous about our transition. There are a lot of new things out West that I will have to learn to deal with such as isolation, illegal immigrants, and lots of rattlesnakes. But, Giles has a beautiful and wonderful job so despite my fears I am trying to accept this transition with a positive spirit and mostly focus on the good things.

We will be back in Arizona by early February and I am so happy that we finally resolved our housing situation and will be living in a small stone house right outside of the park . The house is on 40 acres  of land for a very low cost. Of course if you know anything about the West you would understand that lots of land is a common thing and if you know anything about me you would know that I have always been one to dream of having a house with a lot of land and privacy so I am excited. I can’t wait to hang our clothes out on the line to dry and watch a garden grow in the back yard. I know that this house is just waiting for us to move in and make a lot of new memories that we will carry with us  forever. We have an exciting future ahead and I can’t wait to share the adventures !

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Merwyn Borders permalink
    January 28, 2012 7:08 PM

    My thoughts and prayers are with you and Giles as you transition to you stone house (home) in Arizona. It was a pleasure to work with you briefly at the Great Smokies SVC. the “A Team” will miss you! I’ll look forward to following your blog. May God bless! I hope you will have time for a good Dekker read. Merwyn Borders

    • February 2, 2012 1:57 PM

      Thank you Merwyn, I will miss the “A Team” I really enjoyed working with you all. Be sure to keep that Saturday book safe. 😉

Leave a Reply

