Skip to content

Snow Day

March 12, 2012

Since I have gotten back to the Chiricahua  Mountains I have been pretty much solely focused on the arrival of our little girl.  Of course this is a good thing, but I hadn’t ventured out to enjoy the mountains much. You can also blame it on my lack of energy. Anyways, two days ago I woke up early as usual to go to the bathroom and as I passed by the window I noticed a strange gray tint. I took a closer look and realized it had snowed overnight. Living in the mountains causes some interesting weather that’s for sure. One day we will have a beautiful sunny day in the 60’s, the next gusty 35 mph winds, and the next day we might just wake up to snow on the ground without warning.

Needless to say I enjoyed looking out the window at the snow for a few minutes and then I ventured back to my warm and cozy husband and bed for an hour or so. By the time I finally got the motivation to get out of bed and take some pictures I was dissappointed to see that the snow right around the house had melted. Here’s a picture out our back door in which you can still see some snow on the mountains.

The snow was just what I needed to motivate me to get out of the house and take my first real hike since we moved back. I  decided to do my favorite hike in the park – Sugarloaf. It’s only a 2 mile round trip but gains a lot of elevation so I thought I would get some great views of the snowy mountains. It wasn’t too overwhelming for a woman almost 40 weeks pregnant and I convinced myself to make it all the way to the top because I thought it might encourage this baby to make her way on out – of course it didn’t work, but I did enjoy the views!

Oh and yes don’t forget Case – he loves the snow so I had to bring him along!

I took this to show some of the damage from the fire last summer.

It was very foggy at certain points.

clear and beautiful here though.

I thought this grass was so pretty against the snow.

I am always fascinated seeing snow on desert plants like this yucca.

At the top!

I’m not sure when I’ll have the chance to really enjoy these views again so I am thankful I had the opportunity before the baby gets here and changes everything (in a good way of course)…or so I hear!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. fred gonzarooni permalink
    March 12, 2012 5:25 PM

    good fun pix. i too, like the desert when it isn’t the middull of hawt summer. the bits of snow, and you know it’s cool enough to hike or run or bike. i betcha you guise have some good paved road-bike possibilities, eh?

    about now your life is going to soon, or has, made the most major change you’re apt to have …

    • April 23, 2012 5:13 PM

      Hey, where did you go? I noticed you are no longer on facebook – we miss you!

      • May 14, 2012 9:51 PM

        bet you’ve, um, “found” me again. i’m gonna try to get this werdpress thing banged out and “more presentable.” don’t miss FB at all!

Leave a Reply

