Skip to content

Not Your Typical Weekend (Part I)

June 12, 2012

Let’s face it, It’s a fact that Giles and I do not lead a nice pretty little life all wrapped in a subdivision with mom’s group every other Tuesday and the grocery store right around the corner. I’ll be honest and say that this life we are in has been a huge adjustment for me and there’s hardly a day that goes by that I don’t wish for a little bit more normalcy, but I know if that were the case we wouldn’t be making quite as many crazy and adventurous memories that we can think back on and laugh about.

I thought it would be a nice idea to go on a picnic Sunday after church. Fried chicken, potato salad, and a good book sounded like a nice relaxing moment of normalcy for me . Giles suggested we go to Mt. Graham. Earlier in the month we read about a mountain lake at the top and it sounded like the perfect oasis in the desert. Maybe I would even get to see some green grass, so I said why not? Neither of us had any idea how long it would take to make it to the top. Getting up the mountain alone took over one and a half hours. Most of the time my view from the jeep looked something like this –

It was slightly nerve racking. When we thought we were almost there we came to a dirt road and saw a sign that said Riggs Lake 12 miles.  Do you know how long a 12 mile dirt road  is when your starving, you have to go to the bathroom and you are paranoid about your child’s delicate body over every bump? Just trust me, it’s long.

We were so relieved when a body of water came into view, but as we got closer the ‘lake’ seemed to get smaller and smaller. We literally just laughed when we read the sign that said the forest service was proud to provide this 11 acre lake for the enjoyment of the people. What? A lake? That’s more of a pond in my opinion. Maybe to the locals of Arizona it is quite the treat, but I’m from South Carolina where just a small lake is over 300 acres…

Well, despite the size it was a relatively large body of water compared to what we have seen since we arrived in Arizona so we did our best to enjoy our time together. I didn’t get any good reading or relaxing in because as you mother’s might have guessed I was nursing the baby  the moment we got out of the car. I did however finally get the chance to sit down and enjoy my fried chicken while Giles played with the babe so that was nice.

Audrey had some wild hair from the ride in the Wrangler.

Giles dressed her up in her chicken towel

You can see about half of the lake in this picture.

Mama and babe both tired from the drive.

We didn’t stay too long because we wanted to make it down the mountain before dark.  The views from the top of Mt. Graham, which has an elevation of 10,000 feet, were pretty amazing. You could see for miles!

For my peace of mind I surrounded Audrey’s head with a pair of socks and my rolled up shirt. I know she was probably fine, but I am a new mom so my concern is understandable right? Once she fell asleep she didn’t even notice the bumps in the road.

Total travel time there and back was 6 hours! Now let me make it clear that this is not the first time we have traveled with baby, in fact we’ve gotten quite good at it, but 6 hours is a little bit extreme just for a picnic wouldn’t you say? So was it worth it? Yes and no. It was worth the memories we made and the lessons we learned.

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 19, 2012 6:47 PM

    i’m gonna hafta look up wear you are on the map! 10k+ altitude is a big deal where you are — and it is a big deal in w. colorawdough (as you prob’ly recall). any fish in that lake?
    oh! today i saw something i had NEVER SEEN BEFORE — i was driving across town (heh, Rifle) to go run at the track and saw an osprey fly over with a 12″ (or bigger) wriggling trout in its talons!

Leave a Reply

