Skip to content

The Little Things I Love

May 13, 2013

Audrey is almost 14 months old. She is walking, but I still catch my breath when I turn the corner and her little head is nearly touching my thigh.  Gosh, wasn’t it just yesterday that I was holding her in my arms just waiting to see that first smile.

I love to watch her walk. I love to see where she will go and watch her discover her independence.

She has this ball that lights up that she loves to drop and chase, drop and chase. It just amazes me that such a little thing can bring her so much joy and entertainment. If only we were so easy to please.

I love her animal noises. My favorite one is the monkey. Giles and I pretty much make fools of ourselves just too hear her “woo woo ha ha.”

We have been trying to teach Audrey the different parts of the body. So far she is really good at nose and belly. In fact she knows the belly so well that she enjoys randomly lifting up her shirt while walking and patting her belly. Today she tried to find her belly, but she couldn’t because she was wearing a onesie. She fell over in confusion, it was pretty hilarious.

I have learned that the best way to feed a baby watermelon is outside and in a diaper. Watching the juice run down her little chin and arms and seeing her eyes light up at the sweet taste just makes my day. It is so worth the bath that will inevitably follow.

I almost forgot her kisses.  Usually she needs to see mommy and daddy kiss first and then she wants to join in. When we lean down for a kiss she will pucker her lips and says “mwaaah!” She gives the best kisses in the world.

I am so blessed to be a mother. I never knew how much I could appreciate such little pleasures in life until Audrey came into mine.

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 22, 2013 8:16 PM

    a small coincidence: “betty” took a rubber bouncy ball that lights up when she went to visit “eddy” — and THAT became his favorite toy! (it was a challenge keeping the ball from becoming a dog toy, as well)

Leave a Reply

