Skip to content

Refreshed

July 29, 2013

“To sit in the shade on a fine day, and look upon verdure is the most perfect refreshment.”
― Jane Austen

Lately we have been spending time doing things we couldn’t do when we lived in the Chircahua’s like visiting the library, having play dates, and playing at the community aquatic center. We are so grateful to have these opportunities, but after so much time living in the wilderness I have a desire to go back to it at times. There is just something about being out in nature that stills my soul and brings me peace.

We are surrounded by several mountain ranges here In Sierra Vista which of course means there are a lot of opportunities for the outdoor enthusiast. So today we set out to get to know the area a little bit better and enjoyed a nice, slow guided hike at Ramsey Canyon Preserve. We usually do not do guided hikes, but I thought it might be a good pace since the little one was tagging along. It was slow, but I really enjoyed that because it reminded me of how much you can see and learn when you take the time.

Our guide pointed out that you can always learn something when you take the time to go outside. Today I learned about the Scouring Rush Plant. It fascinates me how God created so many plants with a purpose. This plant was used to scrub pots and pans in generations past.
20130729-151354.jpg

Audrey learned how to climb trees with her daddy.
20130729-151427.jpg

She absolutely loved the hike. She was climbing all over the fallen logs and giant rocks and of course tasting all of the surrounding dirt.
20130729-151408.jpg

20130729-164009.jpg

I love watching her fascination with the simplest things.


20130729-161156.jpg

We spent some quality time together, stopping for snacks on a nearby rock.

20130729-163351.jpg


20130729-151440.jpg

I was so excited to learn that this was the house of the local midwife of Ramsey Canyon in the early 1900’s.
20130729-151449.jpg

The house pictured below was the original birth house of the canyon. I can just imagine all of the women who came here to begin the most beautiful journey of motherhood. I plan to go back and explore this area a bit more and take some time to imagine what the life of a midwife must have been like long ago in the Wild West.
20130729-151507.jpg

It was beautiful day filled with birds singing and butterflies floating through the air. With school just around the corner I have been in an anxious state lately. It was so good to just enjoy nature and let go of my worries. Nature is so therapeutic for me. I came home refreshed and renewed. What outdoor adventures have you enjoyed lately?

20130729-164054.jpg

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 5, 2013 5:11 PM

    good photos! and that cabin in amongst the cool-looking woods — how far out of S V are/were you? (as i’ve seen SV from a distance and it looks kinda “desert-y”)

  2. August 7, 2013 11:10 PM

    oh my gosh….how exciting! that cabin is amazing. both mine were born with midwives 🙂 not sure if your on facebook but we’ve started a group for park rangers and their families https://www.facebook.com/groups/230470663770698/ i’d love for you to join!

    • August 14, 2013 3:28 AM

      Hi thanks for stopping by! How did you find me? I’m always curious 🙂 I am excited about the group. Looking forward to getting to know you better! I am an aspiring midwife so this trip really excited me and it was totally unexpected!

      • August 28, 2013 4:20 AM

        “find you”? it’s easy — i’m “following” you!

Leave a Reply

