Skip to content

A Day at the Lake

November 7, 2013

We have been in a bit of an adventure rut lately, at least I have. Giles has outdoor adventures most days at work and so weekends at home for him are refreshing and he usually doesn’t really want to go far. I enjoy the laid back weekends at home too, don’t get me wrong, but after a week of dealing with strep throat I was really ready to get out of the house and into some clean air. I have so many places that I want to go while we are living out west and I was glad to cross one off the list this weekend to make room for more. Patagonia Lake is only about an hour away and while it isn’t the most spectacular place in the state, it was really just what we needed for a short day trip.

20131106-232424.jpg

I had pretty much given up on trying to find ducks for Audrey to feed in Southern Arizona. so far they have all been wild and chasing them down never seemed to work. Lake Patagonia was a hit because the ducks were very friendly and they even liked fried chicken! Shhh don’t tell the Rangers! Oh and they weren’t really ducks, but according to my bird guide “duck- like birds” called the American Coot.

20131106-232832.jpg

20131106-232918.jpg

Giles did a little bit of fishing, unfortunately Arizona hasn’t given him the greatest of luck with one of his favorite hobbies, but he has fun trying. It looks like Audrey is going to be daddy’s little fishing buddy, she couldn’t wait to get her hands on his pole.

20131106-233402.jpg

20131106-233423.jpg

I love time with my little family. Watching Audrey and Giles have fun together warms my heart with a love I never knew existed.

20131106-233653.jpg

We ended the day with a memory not soon forgotten when I was stung on the tongue by a bumble bee. Unfortunately he did not like the idea of sharing my Arizona green tea. At least I was able to laugh about it as it happened because I had such a funny lisp.

On the way home we stopped in the town of Patagonia and found a neat little coffee shop that was way better than Starbucks which is our only option in town.

We drove home happy from caffeine and memories of a wonderful day.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 13, 2013 4:11 AM

    and about ANY local ‘mom&pop’ coffee-shop is better ‘n starbux!
    (but DON’T read my last post! (i on rare occasions stop at one … 😦 …

  2. November 26, 2013 11:15 PM

    where the heck in (s.?) aridzona is patagonia lake? looks real neat! (we have a few coots on our pond, also)

  3. Tiffany permalink
    November 27, 2013 3:04 PM

    Hey, I have a quick question I wanted to ask you about your blog, do you think you could send me an email when you get this? Thanks! Tiffany

Leave a Reply

