Skip to content

The Intentional Project – 2014

December 31, 2013

2013 has been a wonderful year full of good changes for our family. Changes that I wasn’t sure would ever come, came much more quickly than I was expecting. I have been overwhelmed with good things like owning a home, living in a wonderful little town, becoming a student again and of course having a wonderful husband who helped make these changes happen. All of these changes in one year have made me feel like I was in the middle of a whirlwind at times and I have found myself happy, but unfocused. Some days I’m just not sure where to put my feet down and I end many days knowing that I have not being as intentional as I should have been with my family.

This year I refuse to make a huge list of goals that most likely will overwhelm me and therefore never be accomplished. Instead for the year of 2014 I’m going to be keeping it simple and I plan to focus on one word  – Intentional.

The most important way I feel to be intentional in all areas of my life is to be intentional in my relationship with Jesus, which I believe will lead to my being intentional in my role as a wife and mother.

There are a few specific behaviors in my life I plan to change to become more intentional.

The first habit in my life I will be changing is to deactivate my facebook by January 7 until March 10 which will be my Spring Break. At that point I will reevaluate and decide whether or not I will be rejoining the social media world. I use facebook for a lot so this is a hard decision for me. My message box has become like my e-mail inbox and I love being able to keep up with family and friends who live at a distance, but I can e-mail and call just as easily while being more deliberate about building a relationship. One of the major reasons I have made this choice is because facebook has become a huge time waster for me. I will get on to check my messages and so easily become distracted and 30 minutes later wonder what happened to the time!? This is a problem because I have had a lot of online work to do for school and it’s so easy to mentally say I need a break and turn to facebook because I am already online. I made it through school well this year, but this coming semester is going to be much more intense .I want to be sure that I am using my time wisely so that I do my best in school but am also focusing on making my free time I do have with my daughter and husband the quality time that they deserve. I hope to use the time I’m not on facebook to get to know Jesus more and plan out the day better so that I am more intentional with my time with Audrey and have some fun activities planned that will be lasting memories for us in the years to come.

The other main change I plan to make this year is to wake up earlier. For the first year of Audrey’s life she was waking at least once a night for a feeding and then would wake up around 6 AM to start the day. When she did stop waking for a night feeding she was still quite the early bird. I am not currently, nor have I ever been a morning person and I also very much need my sleep or I am a grumpy girl. I’ll admit that I was never about to consider waking up earlier than her. However, somewhere around 18 months Audrey started waking up around 7-7:30A. I thought it was just a phase so I continued to take advantage of the extra hour of sleep, but for some reason it has continued. For a long time I have felt deserving of that extra hour and have continued sleeping as long as Audrey sleeps, but I know that in order to be a better mother and wife I have got to form a habit of getting up at least 30 minutes, ideally an hour earlier than Audrey. I need time to ready myself for the day and I think the best way for me to do this is by spending some time in the Word and in prayer. I also know that Giles would like it very much if I started making him breakfast every morning like I did when Audrey was waking at 6.

I hope to have more time for writing because I will be spending less time on facebook and I hope those of you who feel close to me will continue following me here. I plan to update my progress through out the year on how the “Intentional Project” is going and maybe even share some failures and successes along the way.

I feel that my goal is very simple for this year, but I know that is what I need to personally be able to succeed. I hope these changes will make me a more caring and loving person and will form some habits that will last a lifetime.

Don’t be afraid to help keep me accounatble! What about you, what are some changes you would like to see in yourself for the year of 2014?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 6, 2014 8:28 PM

    i also have what you might call ‘intentional’, uh, intentions, but don’t want to list them. here, nor anywhere. some: the less-important but visible, physical, social ones, i can: (and you can tell that in the “over-all/cosmic” view, they are NOT that important): 1. i hope to continue on a somewhat regular basis to fulfill my position as regular, oldest, and maybe not worst ice-hockey goalie in the league. (yeah, it’s been almost SIX YEARS since i last was ‘regular’) 2. either through ebay and craig’s list: start “getting rid of” stuff! 3. is there a way to undo and REVERSE my tendency of forgetting what i’ve learned (work/math/engineering wise) almost as quickly as i learned it? 4.

    well … as you know, i “quit” f*b, as it was not only taking up more time “than it was worth” but i was real close to writing annoying things about and to family members. let’s see how your experiment goes! especially as you want to strengthen the utility and value of your collegiate online time anyway.

    • February 8, 2014 6:45 PM

      Good to hear from you, hope your goals are all getting accomplished this year 🙂 glad to hear your still playing hockey!

Leave a Reply

