Skip to content

Life With Two

December 13, 2015

I guess it’s true. I didn’t want it to be. The second child, no matter how hard you try, just doesn’t get the same type of attention as your first did. The proof is right here in the history of my writing. Scarlett, if you read this someday, I’m sorry but I want you to know that you are no less loved!

I can barely say it. 5 months have passed since Scarlett was born and I’ve hardly had time to record any of it. I’m proud to say I have still been taking monthly photos, so here I am playing catch up. Below you will see an overview of Scarlett’s growth for the last 5 months. Honestly, it’s been somewhat of a blur, but she has been such a joy to our family and none of us could imagine life with out her. In fact we were sitting on the couch last night watching a show on bizarre animals with Audrey (after Scarlett had gone to bed) and Audrey decided to suddenly proclaim her love to us as she does occasionally and then she added that she wished Scarlett was “with us on the couch watching this.” She is obviously smitten with her sister, although there are times you wouldn’t believe it.

IMG_6208IMG_63693 monthsScarlett 4SJ 5

I’m not going to go into detail about each month. Honestly I probably don’t remember most of those details, and this is why it is so sad that I am just now recording these precious moments. But, better late than never so let’s start with 5 months and not look back! This past month we celebrated Thanksgiving with my family. Scarlett tried some avocado and sweet potatoes although she is not officially eating solids yet, We are waiting for the 6 month mark to really get going. You wouldn’t be convinced by the picture below, but she seems to really enjoy food which is really exciting for me because Audrey was completely opposite.

IMG_7127

We have definitely been learning a lot about what it takes to raise two. It is more challenging than I expected, but worth it in so many ways. The first few months were difficult as Scarlett was a fussier baby than her sister. That combined with trying to balance two kids partially explains my writing absence. After 3 months (as you often hear) things have slowly gotten easier day by day. Just in the last month Scarlett has been regularly going to bed between 8 and 9 and waking about 2 times a night for feedings which has been very manageable (we won’t talk about the weeks that sickness hit). Naps are hit and miss between the trips to the park for the three year old to remain somewhat calm (can you even use both of those words in the same sentence?) and the gym for me to remain somewhat sane. Despite lacking the “perfect” schedule I used to have, we are still surviving and yes sometimes survive is all we do.

I in no way have this mothering role figured out, in fact I  may have it less figured out now than I did with just one. However, I am slowly starting to find ways to function well which include a quiet time daily for Audrey, even if she doesn’t sleep (although I do encourage it). If I can find a way to get the baby down at the same time I’d pretty much call that a perfect day! Also, making sure I get some gym time 2-3 days a week is a must. Thankfully we joined the Y and I’m able to leave the kids in childwatch. If all I do is walk on the treadmill that’s ok because that means I probably got to read a chapter of my book uninterrupted! When I can get up before the kids and read a devotional or pray (literally on my knees) for grace in my parenting for the day it helps tremendously! I can’t say I do this as often as I would like, but I notice a huge difference when I do. So, these are a few of the lessons I’ve learned, and I’m just now starting to feel like I have some time to write again so hopefully I will be updating more regularly and Scarlett will become more to you than just a picture on a page, because this active little one is definitely so much more than that!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. December 14, 2015 6:51 PM

    Thanks for sharing! I have found that though I may have given child #1 more attention as a baby, I now blame her waaaay more for everything, so maybe it all evens out. Nothing grates on my nerves more than fighting children . . . But it’s good to see your littlest growing up. I love how you took monthly pictures for her!

  2. December 23, 2015 8:12 PM

    one kid: two parents. there’re more of you than the child.

    two kids: two parents. somehow it’s like MORE children than parents. and like you, my daughter would really like both her boys to sleep/rest/be quiet AT THE SAME TIME, but it rarely happens.

    • January 28, 2016 10:56 PM

      oh! perhaps i missed it — are you’all @ another nat’l park now?

      • November 30, 2016 1:37 PM

        Hey sorry for my very late response I haven’t been so active here, life has been busy busy! Yes we are back in SC at Kings Mountain national Military Park. How are you!?

  3. November 30, 2016 3:38 PM

    sounds like a lot “closer to home” ! I am okay, I guess, been in same house since ’92! lotsa “same old” but there’s new stuff (e.g. grand-kids) going on as well.

    • November 30, 2016 5:52 PM

      Well there’s nothing wrong with that! Any races lately?

      • November 30, 2016 7:45 PM

        “they” (whoever they are) say “it keeps ya’ young.” whew. also doing two (ice) hockey games a week — last night I was the only goalie! and switched ends every 10 min. to keep it … uh, even? Races: seems I help put them on more frequently than participate — but do run a few trail runs each year. you?

Leave a Reply

